State Landcare Awards

Over 70 people attended a ceremony at Government House on 16 October which saw eight winners chosen to represent Western Australia at the 2014 National Landcare Awards.

Landcare Australia CEO, Tessa Jakszewicz, was very impressed with the array of projects and groups honoured at the ceremony.

"It is fantastic to see the diversity and strength of the Landcare movement in Western Australia as exhibited by all nominees and winners at this year's Landcare Awards.  I very much look forward to welcoming the winners to next year's National Landcare Awards as we celebrate 25 years of the movement on a national level," she said.

WA winners

  • Individual Landcarer Award - Greg Warburton from Toodyay
  • Partnerships with Landcare Award - Shire of Mundaring
  • Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices Award - North East Farming Futures
  • Landcare Facilitator or Coordinator Award - Linda Anderson from  Karratha
  • Coastcare Award - Tangaroa Blue Foundation
  • Qantas Landcare Innovative Community Group Award - RoyleyBushcare Inc
  • Junior Landcare Team Award - Esperance Bush Ranges
  • Westpac Agribusiness Innovative Young Landcare Leader Award - Kate Sputore from Perth

For more information, please contact:

Francesca Seabourne, Landcare Australia

Tel:  +61 (0)2 8440 8813